August 25, 2026
Restrict who can view the member lists in Google Chat spaces
Space owners and managers can now control who can view the full list of members in a Google Chat space, providing enhanced privacy and administrative control for sensitive, large-scale, or external collaboration spaces.
Previously, any member of a Google Chat space could view the complete list of participants. We are introducing a new space setting—View members—that allows space owners and managers to restrict member visibility within one of four permission levels:
- Owners only
- Owners & managers
- All members (default)
- Entire organization
Similar to membership privacy controls in Google Groups, there are scenarios where limiting member list visibility enhances organization security or privacy:
- Customer spaces: Collaborating with multiple external clients, vendors, or partners
- Sensitive forums: Allowing users to join communities on sensitive topics without revealing their membership in that community
- Confidential projects: Prevent participants in broad project spaces from seeing every internal or external user who has been added to the initiative
Please note that regardless of the member visibility restriction, users will always be able to see the name and profile of anyone who actively sends a message in the space.
Getting started
- Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
- End users: Navigate to Space Settings > Membership > View Members permission control, and select the desired visibility level.
Rollout pace
- Rapid Release and Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) started on August 24, 2026
Availability
- Available to all Google Workspace customers
Resources
- Google Help: Manage view members permissions in Google Chat
