What’s changingStarting on July 10, 2019, Google Photos will no longer sync to Google Drive. From that date forward, if you add or delete files in Photos, they won’t be automatically added or deleted in Drive.
Who’s impactedEnd users
Why it mattersWe heard feedback that users were confused by the connection between Photos and Drive. We’re hoping this simplified experience is easier for users to understand and navigate.
How to get started
- End users: Starting July 10, G Suite users will need to manually download items from Photos and upload them to Drive. If they delete files in Photos, they’ll need to manually delete them in Drive as well.
Additional detailsCurrently, G Suite users can choose to sync Photos to Drive. This means that when they upload a file to Photos, it’s automatically uploaded to the Google Photos folder in Drive. Once these changes go into effect, this folder will stop receiving updates. It won’t go away; it will just stop syncing with Photos.
Unlike consumers, G Suite users do not have the option to show photos from My Drive in Google Photos. If Google Photos is disabled in your organization, your users will not be impacted.
See our post on the Keyword for more details.
Helpful linksHelp Center: Upcoming changes to Google Photos & Google Drive
Keyword: Changing how Google Drive and Google Photos work together
- Rapid Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting on July 10, 2019
- Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting on July 10, 2019
G Suite editions
- Impacts all editions
On/off by default?
- This change will take place for all organizations by default.
Stay up to date with G Suite launches